Wheat fieldThe Agricultural Research Division is the only public entity in Nebraska charged with conducting agricultural research. It is part of a national network of state agricultural experiment stations located in Land Grant Universities across the United States. In 1973, the state legislature passed LB 149, which established the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources. The Agricultural Research Division was created as one of IANR's six divisions.

The state legislation also expanded the federal mandate for agricultural research conducted by the Nebraska experiment station to include research in natural resources, human resources and family sciences. The ARD research portfolio represents a scientific investment in Nebraska's future. ARD research not only solves today's problems, it also defines tomorrow's opportunities.

Related News Sources